Subject Guides: Primary Sources: Historic Newspapers

Historic Newspaper Collections

America's Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Features cover-to-cover reproductions of hundreds of historic newspapers, providing more than one million pages as fully text-searchable facsimile images. For students and scholars of early America, this unique collection -- based largely on Clarence Brigham's "History and Bibliography of American Newspapers,1690-1820" -- offers an unprecedented look back into the history of the United States.
Asian Life in America This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive coverage of the Asian American experience from earliest times to today. Sourced from nearly 19,000 American and global newspapers, including over 400 Asian American newspapers.

Associated Press collections online
Associated Press collections online includes several decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, etc. Coverage varies by collection. Contents provided by Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.
American Prison Newspapers, 1800-2020: Voices from the Inside
American Prison Newspapers brings together hundreds of newspapers published within prisons by incarcerated persons from across the country into one collection that will represent penal institutions of all kinds, with special attention paid to women's-only institutions.

Black Life in America This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of African American history, culture and daily life--as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of African descent via Black-owned newspapers and mainstream publications.
Caribbean Newspapers 1718-1876 This link opens in a new window
Caribbean Newspapers, 1718-1876, provides a comprehensive primary resource for studying the development of Western society and international relations within this important group of islands. Essential for researching colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, New World slavery, and U.S. relations with the region as far back as the early 18th century.

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers
Digitized newspapers from 1789-1963.

Hispanic Life in America This link opens in a new window
This primary source collection offers an expansive window into centuries of Hispanic American history, culture, and daily life -- as well as the ways the dominant culture has portrayed and perceived people of Hispanic descent. The database covers from the early 18th century to the early 21st -- from the early Spanish settlements to the modern era.
NYS Historic Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Newspapers back to 1803 from throughout New York State.

National Historical Archive Newspapers
NewsBank Access World News: Boston Herald (1848-1991), Kansas City Star (1880-1990); [New Orleans] Times-Picayune (1837-1988), San Francisco Chronicle (1869-1984)

Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers features publications of all kinds, from the political party newspapers at the beginning of the nineteenth century to the mammoth dailies that shaped the nation at the century's end. Major newspapers stand alongside those published by African Americans, Native Americans, women’s rights groups, labor groups, and the Confederacy.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
ProQuest Historical Newspapers offers full-text and full-image articles for selected newspapers dating back to the late 18th century. For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in the stated time period, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.

ProQuest Historical Black Newspapers
Full text and full-image articles from African American newspapers: Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010), Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010), Chicago Defender (1910-2010), Cleveland Call & Post (1934-1991), Kansas City Call (1919 - 2010), Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010), Louisville Defender (1951-2010), Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010), New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010), Norfolk Journal & Guide (1921-2010), Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010), and Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010).

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Collection This link opens in a new window The ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Newspapers from across New York State. Binghampton [Binghamton Press (1904-1905); Binghamton Press and Leader (1905-1927); Binghamton Press (1927-1960); The Evening Press (1960-1985); Press & Sun Bulletin (1985-)] Elmira [Elmira Gazette and Free Press (1891-1907); Elmira Star-Gazette (1907-1963); Star-Gazette and Advertiser (1963-1967); Star-Gazette (1967-)] Ithaca [The Ithaca Journal (1914-1919); Ithaca Daily News (1919-1919); Ithaca Journal-News (1919-1933); Ithaca Journal (1934-)] New York City [Illustrated Daily News (1919-1919); The News (1919-1920); Daily News (1920-)] Poughkeepsie [The Country Journal, and the Poughkeepsie Advertiser (1785-1788); The Country Journal, and Dutchess and Ulster County Farmer's Register (1788-1789);The Poughkeepsie Journal (1789-1802);The Poughkeepsie Journal, and Constitutional Republican (1802-1815); Poughkeepsie Journal (1815-1838); Poughkeepsie Journal & Eagle (1844-1847); The Journal and Poughkeepsie Eagle (1848-1850); The Poughkeepsie Eagle (1850-1860); Poughkeepsie Daily Eagle (1861-1915); The Sunday Courier (1872-1876); Poughkeepsie Eagle - News (1915-1942); Poughkeepsie New Yorker (1941-19600; Poughkeepsie Journal (1960-); Rockland [The Journal-News (1889-1990); Rockland Journal-News (1991-1998);The Journal News (1998-)] Rochester [Rochester Democrat and Chronicle (1871-1884); Democrat and Chronicle (1884-)] Westchester [The Journal News (1998-)]
Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection This link opens in a new window
The Seventeenth and Eighteenth Century Burney Newspapers Collection represents the largest single collection of seventeenth and eighteenth century English news media available from the British Library and includes more than 1,000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

U.S. Historic Newspapers - Individual Titles (Mostly ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

[Albany] Times Union
NewsBank Access World News: 1900-1986 (images); 1987-2015 (text only); 2016-current (images).
Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Constitution (Atlanta, Ga. : 1868-1869), Atlanta constitution (Atlanta, Ga. : 1869-1875), Atlanta daily constitution (1875), Constitution (Atlanta, Ga. : 1875-1876), Daily constitution (Atlanta, Ga. : 1876-1881), and the Atlanta constitution (Atlanta, Ga. : 1881-1984). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Atlanta Daily World (1931-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Atlanta world (1931-1932) and the Atlanta daily world (1932-2010). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Baltimore Afro-American (1893-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: A searchable database of full-text and full-image newspaper articles published in: the Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : 1892), the Afro-American Ledger (Baltimore, Md.), and the Afro-American (Baltimore, Md. : 1915).
Boston Globe (1872-2007) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: A searchable database of full-page and article images from the newspaper The Boston Globe under all its title variants.
Boston Herald (1848-current)
NewsBank Access World News: 1848-1991 (images); 1992-2017 (text only); 2018-current (images)
Chicago Defender (1910-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Chicago Defender (1910-2010) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue.
Chicago Tribune (1849-1998) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Chicago daily tribune (1847-1858), Chicago press and tribune (1858-1860), Chicago tribune (1860-1872), Chicago daily tribune (1872-1963), Chicago tribune (1963-current)
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2009) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Full-page images and article images from: Christian Science monitor (Boston, Mass. : 1908); Christian Science monitor (Boston, Mass. : Atlantic ed.); Christian Science monitor (Boston, Mass. : Eastern ed.); and: Christian Science monitor (Boston, Mass. : 1983).
Cleveland Call and Post (1934-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Contains the full text and complete page images of the newspaper Cleveland call and post from 1934 to 2010, including its title variants. Issues are indexed and fully searchable.
Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Detroit Free Press (1831-1922) offers full page and article images with searchable full text back to the first issue. The collection includes digital reproductions providing access to every page from every available issue for the following titles: Democratic Free Press and Michigan Intelligencer (May 5, 1831-Nov. 15, 1832), Semi-weekly Free Press (Feb. 28, 1837-June 2, 1837), Detroit Free Press (June 5, 1837-Dec. 31, 1841), Detroit Daily Free Press (Jan. 4, 1842-Jan. 25, 1842), Daily Free Press (Jan. 28, 1842-Mar. 1, 1842), Democratic Free Press (Mar. 2, 1842-Jan. 1, 1848), Detroit Free Press (Jan. 4, 1848-Oct. 6, 1851), Detroit Daily Free Press (Oct. 7, 1851-Aug. 17, 1858), and Detroit Free Press (Aug. 18, 1858-Dec. 31, 1922).
Kansas City Call‎ (1919 - 2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: The Kansas City Call is a Black weekly newspaper founded in 1919 to provide leadership for the Black community. It quickly became one of the most successful Black newspapers in the U.S. covering civil rights issues and fighting segregation, discrimination, and other important issues of the African American community. The paper has a strong history of encouraging African Americans to register and vote and of covering many key Black issues including school segregation and urban development.
Kansas City Star (1880-current)
NewsBank Access World News: 1880-1990 (images); 1991-2012 (text only); 2013-current (images)
Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles sentinel (1934-2010). The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1999) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database offers full page and article images with searchable full text from the Los Angeles Daily Times and the Los Angeles Times. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Louisville Defender (1951-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Coverage: 1951 - 2010
Michigan Chronicle (1939-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Coverage: 1939 - 2010
Nashville Tennessean (1812-2009) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from The Nashville Whig (1812-1817), The Nashville Whig and Tennessee Advertiser (1817-1819), Nashville Whig (1819-1826), Nashville Republican & State Gazette (1827-1834), Nashville Republican (1834-1837), Republican Banner (1837-1875), Daily American (1875-1894), The Nashville American (1894-1910), Nashville Tennessean (1907-1910), Nashville Tennessean and the Nashville American (1910-1920), Nashville Tennessean (1920-1922), Nashville Tennessean (1923-1972), The Tennessean (1972-2002). The collection contains digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
[New Orleans] Times-Picayune (1837-current)
NewsBank Access World News: 1837-1988 (images); 1989-2017 (text only); 2018-current (images)
New York Amsterdam News (1922-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from the following: New York Amsterdam news (1922-1938), New York Amsterdam news (1938-1941 : City ed.), New York Amsterdam news (1943-1961 : City ed.), New York Amsterdam news (1962-2010), New York Amsterdam Star-news (1941-1943), New York Star & Amsterdam news (1941-1941)
New York Times with Index (1851-present, some exceptions) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Includes full page images and article images from the New York Daily Times (1851 to 1857) and the New York Times from its first issue in 1857 through 2002. The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue, cover to cover, in downloadable PDF files.
New York Tribune/Herald Tribune (1841-1962) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Contains the full text and complete page images of the newspaper New York tribune from 1841-1962, including its title variants. Issues are indexed and fully searchable.
Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Contains the full text and complete page images of the newspaper Norfolk journal and guide from 1921-2010, including its title variants. Issues are indexed and fully searchable.
Philadelphia Tribune (1912-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Contains the full text and complete page images of the newspaper, the Philadelphia tribune: "The oldest continuously published black newspaper ... dedicated to the needs and concerns of the fourth largest black community in the U.S. During the 1930s the paper supported the growth of the United Way, rallied against the riots in Chester, PA, and continuously fought against segregation." Issues are indexed and fully searchable.
Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text from: The Courier (1950-1954 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1969-1981 : City ed.), New Pittsburgh Courier (1981-2010), Pittsburgh Courier (1911-1950 : City ed.), Pittsburgh Courier (1955-1965 : City ed.), The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This database provides full page and article images with searchable full text for the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette (1786-2003) The collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue in PDF format.
San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Provides comprehensive coverage of the San Francisco chronicle, with searchable full text and complete page images.
San Francisco Chronicle (1869-Current)
NewsBank Access World News: San Francisco Chronicle 1869 - 1984 (images); 1985 - 2016 (text only); 2017-Current (images)
Washington Post (1877-2006) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Known for its comprehensive political reporting, first-rate photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and unmatched investigative reporting, the historical Washington Post (1877-1993) is an unparalleled resource for today’s budding journalists, political historians, and students of government.

International Historical Newspapers

China

The North China Herald Online (Approximately 1850-1940s)
The North China Herald is the prime printed source for the history of the foreign presence in China from around 1850 to 1940s.

France

Le Monde (1944-2000) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Coverage: 1944 - 2000

Ireland

Irish Times and The Weekly Irish Times (1859-2021) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Contains the full text and complete page images of the newspaper the Irish times from 1859-2010 and the Weekly Irish times from 1876-1958. Issues are indexed and fully searchable.

Israel

Jerusalem Post (1932-2008) ProQuest Historical Newspapers. This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Spain

ABC (Spain) (1903-2010) ProQuest Historical Newspapers. irst published in Madrid in 1903, ABC is the oldest newspaper still operating in Madrid, the second largest newspaper in Spain, and one of three newspapers of record in Spain. It has always been considered the most well written among Spanish newspapers with many great writers and intellectuals contributing over the years. Politically, ABC is known for supporting the Spanish monarchy and for its conservative political views.  The newspaper uses extensive photography and was the first European newspaper to use photoengravings.

Daily Mail Historical Archive, 1896-2016 Described by the New Yorker as "the newspaper that rules Britain", the Daily Mail has been at the heart of British journalism since 1896, regularly changing the course of government policy and setting the national debate. Its website is among the most visited news sites in the world. The Daily Mail Historical Archive includes more than one hundred years of this major UK national newspaper, viewable in full digital facsimile form, with copious advertisements, news stories, and images that capture twentieth-century culture and society.
Guardian (1821-2003) and The Observer (1791-2003) ProQuest Historical Newspapers: This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Illustrated London News Historical Archive, 1842-2003 The Illustrated London News Historical Archive gives students and researchers unprecedented online access to the entire run of the ILN from its first publication on 14 May 1842 to its last in 2003. Each page has been digitally reproduced in full colour and every article and caption is full-text searchable with hit-term highlighting and links to corresponding illustrations.
Sunday Times Historical Archive, 1822-2016 Founder Henry White originally named the paper The New Observer, changing it shortly thereafter to The Independent Observer before settling on The Sunday Times. Despite the similarity of their names, The Sunday Times was an entirely separate paper from The Times until 1 January 1967, when both London papers came under the common ownership of Times Newspapers Ltd. To this day, The Sunday Times remains editorially independent from The Times, with its own remit and perspective on the news.
Telegraph Historical Archive, 1855-2016 The Telegraph Historical Archive has over 1 million pages of content and includes the Sunday edition from its inception in 1961. The archive offers a fundamental insight into domestic and international affairs and culture over a time span of more than 150 years.
Times Digital Archive,1785-2019 Full-text and full-image articles from the Times of London. It is a digital reproduction, cover to cover, of the paper in PDF files.

Lucy Scribner Library

Primary Sources: Historic Newspapers

Historic Newspaper Collections

U.S. Historic Newspapers - Individual Titles (Mostly ProQuest Historical Newspapers)

International Historical Newspapers