Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Journals & Magazines
American historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society
American Historical Periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society provides a history of the American people and a testament to the growth of the nation from the colonial period through to the twentieth century. The periodicals focused on American concerns and were predominantly published in the United States or Canada, though some were published overseas by Americans living abroad. The collection offers multiple perspectives on the thought, culture, and society of North America through the eyes of those who lived it, showing how history affected citizens from all walks of life.
American periodicals This link opens in a new window
Consists of digitized reproductions of more than 1,100 eighteenth and nineteenth century American newspapers and periodicals. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.
Eighteenth Century Journals This link opens in a new window
Bringing together rare journals printed between c.1685 and 1835, this resource illuminates all aspects of eighteenth-century social, political and literary life.
Entertainment Industry Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
An archival research resource containing the essential primary sources for studying the history of the film and entertainment industries, from the era of vaudeville and silent movies through to 2000. The core US and UK trade magazines covering film, music, broadcasting and theater are all included, together with film fan magazines and music press titles. Magazines have been scanned cover-to-cover in high-resolution color, with granular indexing of all articles, covers, ads and reviews
Gerritsen Collection of Aletta H. Jacobs This link opens in a new window
The Gerritsen Collection was begun by Aletta Jacobs Gerritsen in the late 1800s, and, when the work was finished in 1945, it was the greatest single source for the study of women's history in the world. The online resource delivers two million page images exactly as they appeared in the original printed works. It includes monographs, periodicals and pamphlets in fifteen languages, and is searchable by keyword and Boolean operators.
Independent Voices represents the largest digital collection of alternative press titles, with complete runs of more than 1,000 titles and 750,000 pages. The collection includes the complete runs of newspapers, magazines, and journals drawn from the special collections of source libraries.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to the back issues of a multidisciplinary array of journals. Coverage includes the arts and humanities; the social and political sciences; mathematics and the hard sciences; and business and economics.
Opinion Archives This link opens in a new window
OpinionArchives provides electronic archives for journals of opinion, including America’s Quarterly, Dissent, Commonweal, Commentary, NYROB, The New Yorker, Moment, Washington Monthly, American Spectator, Harper’s, Weekly Standard, New Leader, Washington Examiner, Progressive, Orion and Lafollette’s digital archives. The OpinionArchives metasearch tool provides cross-journal searching for all titles in the archive.
Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE is a leading provider of digital humanities and social science content for the scholarly community around the world.
RIPM Jazz Periodicals This link opens in a new window
An essential, unique collection of American jazz periodicals, of great importance to any lover of jazz and its history, and a primary source reference and research tool for all libraries.
Rock's Backpages This link opens in a new window
Look in the "Library" section for music magazines.
The Rolling Stone Archive This link opens in a new window
Full-text access from 1967 to the present
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
Women's Magazine Archive This link opens in a new window
Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture. Archival issues, however, have previously been difficult to locate and navigate. Women's Magazine Archive provides access to the complete archives of the foremost titles of this type, which serve as canonical records of evolving assumptions about gender roles and cultural mores.