Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Visual Resources A-F
American West This link opens in a new window
Original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material, and rare printed sources from the Graff Collection about the American West, including tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes, and outlaws, and the growth of urban centres and environmental impact of westward expansion and of life in the borderlands.
AP Newsroom This link opens in a new window
Access over 180 years of the photographs, sound bites, and graphics from the archives of the Associated Press.
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download, and organize images.
Associated Press collections online
Associated Press collections online includes several decades' worth of wire copy, correspondence, memos, internal publications, etc. Coverage varies by collection. Contents provided by Associated Press Corporate Archives, AP Images, and AP Archive.
David Rumsey Map Collection This link opens in a new window
The David Rumsey Historical Map Collection has over 20,000 maps and images online. The collection focuses on rare 18th and 19th century North American and South American maps and other cartographic materials. Historic maps of the World, Europe, Asia, and Africa are also represented. Collection categories include antique atlas, globe, school geography, maritime chart, state, county, city, pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps.
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
DPLA Primary Source Sets are designed to help students develop critical thinking skills by exploring topics in history, literature, and culture through primary sources. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the United States, the sets use letters, photographs, posters, oral histories, video clips, sheet music, and more.
Empire Online This link opens in a new window
This resource brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and its theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Links 4 million digital items including images such as paintings, drawings, maps, photos and pictures of museum objects. Some of these are world famous, others are hidden treasures from Europe's museums and galleries, archives and libraries.
First World War This link opens in a new window
The First World War portal showcases a wealth of primary source material for the study of the Great War, complemented by a range of contextual secondary features. Includes three modules: Personal experiences; Propaganda and recruitment; Visual perspectives and narratives.
Market Research and American Business, 1935-1965 This link opens in a new window
Collection of proposals, pilot studies, advertisements, reports, memorandums, letters, and supporting material created by Ernest Dichter and the Institute for Motivational Research.
Visual Resources G-Z
India, Raj, and Empire This link opens in a new window
Manuscript collections from the National Library of Scotland comprising diaries, letters, maps, sketches and official and private papers: a rich array of documents with which to explore the history of India from the foundation of the East India Company in 1615 to the granting of independence for India and Pakistan in 1947.
Library of Congress Digital Collections
A multimedia Website of digitized historical documents, photographs, sound recordings, moving pictures, books, pamphlets, maps, and other resources from the Library of Congress.
London Low Life This link opens in a new window
An extraordinary digital collection bringing to life the teeming streets of Victorian London, and inviting students and scholars to explore the gin palaces, brothels and East End slums of the nineteenth century's greatest city. This collection, drawn from the holdings of the Lilly Library, will be of interest to 19th century scholars researching: working-class culture, street literature, popular music, urban topography, 'slumming', prostitution, the Contagious Diseases Act, the Temperance Movement, social reform, Toynbee Hall, police and criminality.
NYPL Digital Collection
NYPL Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 800,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
Paris Museum Collections
Provides open access to 100,000 digital reproductions of artworks in the Paris's museums via its Collections portal.
Popular culture in Britain and America, 1950-1975 This link opens in a new window
This database contains original archival materials about popular culture in the U.S. and U.K. from 1950 to 1975. Topics include student protests, civil rights, consumerism, the Vietnam War, and more.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice, 1490-2007 This link opens in a new window
An essential resource for the study of slavery, the African American experience and world history spanning over five centuries. Designed for teaching and research, this resource brings together documents and collections from libraries and archives across the Atlantic world, covering an extensive time period from 1490. Topics covered include the varieties of slavery, the legacy of slavery, the social justice perspective and the continued existence of slavery today.
Travel Writing, Spectacle and World History This link opens in a new window
Women's travel diaries and correspondence from the Schlesinger Library at the Radcliffe Institute for Advanced Study, Harvard University. Includes manuscripts, diaries, travel journals, correspondence, photographs, postcards and ephemera, from 1818 to the 1970s.
Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels This link opens in a new window
Primary source database focusing on North American and European adult comic books and graphic novels. The collection includes original material from the 1960s to today along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines.
Victorian Popular Culture This link opens in a new window
Victorian Popular Culture is a portal comprised of four modules, inviting users into the darkened halls, small backrooms, big tops and travelling venues that hosted everything from spectacular shows and bawdy burlesque, to the world of magic, spiritualist séances, optical entertainments and the first moving pictures.
World Digital Library
The World Digital Library (WDL) is a project of the U.S. Library of Congress, carried out with the support of the United Nations Educational, Cultural and Scientific Organization (UNESCO), and in cooperation with libraries, archives, museums, educational institutions, and international organizations from around the world. The WDL makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from all countries and cultures.