Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search these library databases and websites to find images.
Searchable database of digital images and associated catalog data, with new image collections added several times a year. ARTstor covers many time periods and cultures, and documents the fields of architecture, painting, sculpture, photography, decorative arts, design, anthropology, ethnographic and women studies, as well as many other forms of visual culture. Users can search, view, download, and organize images.
Artstor: Tang Teaching Museum Collection
Skidmore community members and visiting researchers can explore more of the Tang’s collection on Artstor. This collection is central to the museum’s mission of object-based learning and a stimulus for interdisciplinary teaching and learning. The collection includes more than 16,000 objects representing a wide variety of materials, subject matter, and time periods. It is filled with oddities of material culture and masterworks by renowned contemporary artists alike.
Access over 180 years of the photographs, sound bites, and graphics from the archives of the Associated Press.
Berg Fashion Library
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.
Index of Medieval Art
This database includes images and descriptive data related to the iconography of works of art produced between early apostolic times and the sixteenth century. It offers critically important resources for scholars of medieval visual culture.
Selected Image Websites
Over 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering fi Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda from 1911-1955.
Browse over 340,000 artists from around the world. You can also research modern and contemporary artist information with the Monographs library.
The world's largest fine art stock photo archive, with more than 1,000,000 searchable fine art images from the world's leading sources
Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)
Primary source collections exploring topics in history, literature, and culture. Drawing online materials from libraries, archives, and museums across the U.S., the sets use photographs, posters, sheet music, and more.
Millions of artworks from European archives, libraries and museums.
Google Arts & Culture
Google Arts & Culture has collaborated with over 1,200 international museums, galleries and institutions from 70 countries to make their exhibits available online. Use tools to explore by time and color, zoom to view artworks in detail, tour famous sites and landmarks, and more.
Google Image Search
Google's advanced image search.
Met's Timeline of Art History
Pairs essays and works of art with chronologies, telling the story of art and global culture through the Met’s collection.
NYPL Digital Gallery
Explore 746,638 items digitized from The New York Public Library's collections, including prints, photographs, maps, manuscripts, streaming video, and more.
A searchable scholarly database and web portal that provides access to 25 million images from 14 art institutions, including the Frick, the National Gallery of Art and the Yale Center for British Art.
Search over 14 million records of museum objects, archives and library materials including more than 3.0 million online images, audio & videos.
VADS: The Online Resource for Visual Arts
Provides over 140,000 images from British collections that are freely available for use in teaching and research.
Web Gallery of Art
A database of European fine arts and architecture (8th-19th centuries), currently containing over 45,400 reproductions.
Copyright-free Image Websites
Creative Commons: Image Directories
Allow users to find public domain images for use in their projects.
Free Images for Academic/Scholarly Use (CAA)
The list of open access images is below the section “Image Sources and Rights Clearance Agencies”.
Over 1.5 million royalty free stock photos. illustrations and videos.
Over 1 million free high-resolution images brought to you by the world’s most generous community of photographers.
A collection of nearly 50,000,000 freely usable media files, including images, sound, and video clips.
Image Resources at Skidmore
The collections allow virtual browsing of materials from Skidmore's Special Collections and Archives.
Visual Resources Collection
Our growing collection, which comprises more than 25,000 digital images, is hosted within the Artstor Digital Library.
(Library, ground level)
The Lab contains Mac computers, scanners, digital still cameras, digital video cameras, printers, CD-R/DVD-R burners, and graphics software for use in the production of multimedia materials.