Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Reference Sources
Search these databases and websites to find reference sources.
Oxford Art Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to Grove Art Online, The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms. Includes image partnerships with ARTstor, the British Museum, the Museum of Modern Art, the Metropolitan Museum of Art, Art Images for College Teaching, Art Resource, Artists Rights Society and numerous international art galleries and artists.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central This link opens in a new window
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3 million entries from 400+ aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers. Included are dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more.
Grove Encyclopedia of Classical Art and Architecture
This deals with all aspects of classical art from Cycladic, Minoan and Etruscan art to the fall of the Roman Empire. It is a comprehensive reference source on this important area for students, researchers and the general public.
Grove Encyclopedia of Decorative Arts
This text covers aspects of the decorative arts from ancient times throughout the world. It provides coverage of a range of subjects including arms and armour, artists' colonies, ceramics craftsmen, design, furniture, glass, jewellery, metalwork textiles, workshops, and more.
Thames & Hudson Dictionary of Art Terms
Contains over 2000 authoritative entries. Covers painting, sculpture, architecture, photography, the decorative, applied and graphic arts from all periods throughout the world up to the present day.
Grove Encyclopedia of Materials and Techniques in Art
This title deals with all aspects of materials, techniques conservation, and restoration in both traditional and nontraditional media, including ceramics, sculpture, metalwork painting, works on paper, textiles, video, digital art, and more.
Visual Dictionary Online
Provides over 6,000 full-color images of a wide variety of objects from all aspects of life. Useful when you know what something looks like but not what it’s called, or when you know the word but can’t picture the object.