Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Reference Sources
Reference sources are useful when starting your research to learn more about your topic.
Music Reference Databases
African American Music Reference This link opens in a new window
African American Music Reference is bringing togther text reference, biographies, chronologies, sheet music, images, lyrics, liner notes, and discographies which chronicle the diverse history and culture of the African American experience through music. The database is constantly expanding to include comprehensive coverage of blues, jazz, spirituals, civil rights songs, slave songs, minstrelsy, rhythm and blues, gospel, and other forms of black American musical expression.
Bloomsbury Music and Sound This link opens in a new window
Bloomsbury Music and Sound is a growing digital hub for exclusive reference content, cutting edge scholarship and learning resources in music and sound studies.
IPA Source This link opens in a new window
IPA source contains International Phonetic Alphabet (IPA) transcriptions and literal translations of opera arias and art song texts. The goal of IPA source is to promote the comprehension and accurate pronunciation of foreign language texts in art song and opera in order that the singer may imbue each syllable with the appropriate emotional content. Translations into English from multiple languages.
Music Online: Reference This link opens in a new window
Music Online: Reference brings together a variety of essential music reference materials, spanning the entire history of Western classical music, in a unified online database. Included are the authoritative reference titles The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, Baker's Dictionary of Music, Baker's Bibliographical Dictionary of Musicians, and Baker's Student Encyclopedia of Music.
Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new window
With over 60,000 articles written by over 6,000 music scholars, it is an authoritative resource for music research.
Provides access to:
Grove Music Online
Oxford Dictionary of Music
Oxford Companion to Music
Encyclopedia of Popular Music
American National Biography
Offers biographies of prominent American men and women no longer living-- searchable by name, occupation, sex, birth date, death date, birthplace, contributor, and keyword. Illustrations and links to external web sites are available.
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 3 million entries from 400+ aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers. Included are dictionaries, subject encyclopedias, handbooks, gazetteers, atlases, directories, and more.
Oxford Reference This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference brings together nearly 200 language and subject reference works in a single cross-searchable resource. Works in the collection include an expanding range of key titles in the acclaimed Oxford Companions series, the Oxford Dictionary of Quotations, many English-language and bilingual dictionaries, as well as subject encyclopedias and dictionaries in a wide range of subject areas.