Subject Guides: MB 107 Archive: Spring 2017 Etsy

EP Case Documents

MB 107 Course Website

EP Case Documents

Library Worksheet

Announcements

Group Study Rooms:

Library Group Study rooms may be reserved up to 24 hours in advance for a maximum of 2 hours per student. Room Reservations may be made online or by using the control panel outside of the room.

Library Room 118:
Although it cannot be reserved, the Library's electronic classroom is often available in the evenings and on weekends for student use. Your team may find it to be a good place to practice your executive case presentation.

USB or Datastor:
We recommended that students use a USB storage device (memory stick/flash drive) to access their visual aids for the formal presentation. Use Datastor to save your research and presentation materials as you prepare them.

Etsy (ETSY) - Spring 2017

"In an Etsy Economy, creative entrepreneurs can find meaningful work selling their goods in both global and local markets, where thoughtful consumers can discover those goods and build relationships with the people who make and sell them."

-Building an Etsy Economy

Etsy Website
Etsy's official website
Investor Relations
Access selected company announcements and current annual report.
Etsy Press Releases
Company press releases.
Etsy News Blog
Separate from Etsy's public release statements, this blog highlights new company products, company news, and community stories.
Financial Releases
Archived Annual Reports and Form 10Ks.

2016 Annual Report

SEC filings
SEC filings available in several formats.
Stockholder Information
Find current and historical Etsy stock quote and chart.
Etsy Studio
A new craft marketplace from Etsy with a planned launch date of April 2017.
B Lab
Learn about Etsy's B Corporation status, which is overseen by the nonprofit organization B Lab.
The Good Work Institue
Formerly Etsy.org, this non-profit's mission is to cultivate small business leaders within the Hudson River Watershed to have a net-positive benefit to the region and beyond.

Etsy Seller Information

Etsy Seller Handbook
Crafting the Future of Work: The Big Impact of Microbusinesses
2016 survey of Etsy Sellers
Etsy Advertising
Pattern by Etsy
Etsy's new seller service to allow seller's to create their own custom websites.

Company Reports

Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a good place to begin researching a company. Search Etsy to access the Etsy, Inc. company overview, easily identify competitors and NAICS codes, and track the latest company news.
Business Insight's Essential - Etsy Profile
Includes a report on the company's history.
Crunchbase - Etsy Profile
CrunchBase is the free directory of technology companies, people, and investors that anyone can edit. It is developed and maintained by TechCrunch with the support of the tech community and web site visitors.

PrivCo Database of financial data on major privately-held companies. Includes private financials and revenues; private M&A deals and deal multiples, private firm valuations, VC funding, private equity deal history; and private and family ownership data.

Industry Reports

First Research Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
IBISWorld Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.

Retail Trade Data

Quarterly E-Commerce Reports
Reports on the percentage of E-Commerce sales from total retail sales.
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade
Census Bureau provides current estimates of sales at retail and food services stores and inventories held by U.S. retail stores.

E-Commerce & Craft Trade Organizations

Internet Merchants Association
Electronic Retailing Association
The Association for Creative Industries (AFCI)
Formerly the Craft & Hobby Association (CHA)

Marketing Information

Databases

EASI Market Planner EASI market planner provides data on consumer demographics and usage/ spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts and block groups in the U.S. The data can be mapped, graphed and analyzed using the interactive tools available in Statistical datasets. Use this in-depth consumer demographic research data to better understand your target audience. Find reports by age, gender, lifestyle and multicultural demographics, or browse research on leisure pursuits.

Select Articles

Marketing Fact Pack (Advertising Age)
Ad Age's annual guide to marketers, media and agencies.
Digital Family Trees 2012
Ad Age Data Center
Some free data on digital marketing is available. Select the Social Media or Digital Fast Facts tabs and then click on the "+" symbol to access the data.
10 Things You Should Know About the Global Ad Market
AdAge DataCenter. Dec. 2015.
Provides breakdown of worldwide ad spending by medium.
By the Numbers (Ad Week)
Digital marketing special section with predictive data for online vs. television spending.

Guides

Marketing and Advertising Guide
Use this guide to access even more marketing and advertising databases, journals, and resources.

Etsy Case Readings

King, Rachel. (2017, April 12). Etsy is making these sustainability tools available for free. Fortune.

Retrieved from http://fortune.com/2017/04/12/etsy-open-source-software/

Etsy names Racehl Glaser chief financial officer. (2017, April 3). PRNewswire. Retrieved from

http://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/etsy-names-rachel-glaser-chief-financial-officer-300433756.html

Wink, Christopher. (2017, April 5). Etsy doesn't want 'cultural fit'. Technical.ly. Retrieved

from https://technical.ly/brooklyn/2017/04/05/etsy-doesnt-want-cultural-fit/

Hays, Kali. (2017, March 17). Etsy beats investor suit over 'misleading' counterfeit sale claim.

Women's Wear Daily. Retrieved from http://wwd.com/business-news/legal/etsy-beats-investor-suit-over-counterfeit-sales-claims-10846781/

Moazed, Alex. (2016, February 26). Etsy looks to boost growth with its new craft marketplace. Inc.

Retrieved from http://www.inc.com/alex-moazed/etsy-looks-to-boost-growth-with-its-new-craft-marketplace.html

Salzman, Avi. (2017, March 1). Etsy's stock comes unglued. Barron's Next.

Retrieved from http://www.barrons.com/articles/etsys-stock-comes-unglued-1488387533

Etsy's (ETSY) CEO Chad Dickerson on Q4 2016 results - earnings call transcript.

(2017, February 28). Retrieved from http://seekingalpha.com/article/4050811-etsys-etsy-ceo-chad-dickerson-q4-2016-results-earnings-call-transcript

Lunden, I. (2016, September 22). Handmade, Amazon's Etsy rival, expands into Europe. TechCrunch.

Retrieved from https://techcrunch.com/2016/09/22/handmade-amazons-etsy-rival-expands-into-europe/

Wahba, P. (2016, July 8). Macy's is teaming up with Etsy to win over millennials. Fortune.Com, 1.

Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=116706571&site=bsi-live

Kim, S., Karlesky, M. J., Myers, C. G., & Schifeling, T. (2016, June 17). Why companies are becoming

B Corporations. Harvard Business Review Digital Articles, 2-5. Retrieved from

http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=bth&AN=118694578&site=bsi-live

Fortune Interview

Interview with Chad Dickerson, CEO of Etsy

How Etsy's CEO Went from Media to Silicon Valley

Lucy Scribner Library

MB 107 Archive: Spring 2017 Etsy