Subject Guides: MB 107 Archive: Fall 2020 Disney

Disney castle image

EP Case Documents

MB 107 Course Website

EP Case Documents

Library Worksheet

Marketing Information

Databases

EASI Market Planner EASI market planner provides data on consumer demographics and usage/ spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts and block groups in the U.S. The data can be mapped, graphed and analyzed using the interactive tools available in Statistical datasets. Use this in-depth consumer demographic research data to better understand your target audience. Find reports by age, gender, lifestyle and multicultural demographics, or browse research on leisure pursuits.

Marketing and Advertising Guide
Use this guide to access even more marketing and advertising databases, journals, and resources.

Statistical data

Statista Provides access to statistics and studies gathered by market researchers, trade organizations, scientific publications, and government sources on over 600 industries.

Walt Disney Company - Fall 2020

Walt Disney Company - Fall 2020
The official company website.
Investor Relations
Financial Reports
News
Press Releases
Events & Presentations
Social Responsibility

Company Reports

D&B Hoover's Provides company profiles, corporate directory (searchable by company name, industry, ticker symbol, sales, location), market quotes, and business news. Includes Hoover's company profile database. Also provides hypertext links to over 5000 company Web sites.

To compare competitors follow these instructions:

Marketline MarketLine provides original industry, company, market analysis, and country reports based on published research and primary and secondary data sources. This growing collection currently includes 3,500 industry profiles; market data on 150 consumer products in over 60 countries; 30,000 company profiles; 2,500 company SWOT analyses; summaries of 50,000 M&A and financial deals; 110 country profiles; and economic and demographic indicators for 215 countries. The market data and economic indicators may be downloaded for spreadsheet analyses.
Business Source Complete Business Source Complete provides full text for over 10,000 scholarly business journals and other sources, including full text for more than 1,150 peer-reviewed business publications. Coverage includes virtually all subject areas related to business. This database provides full text (PDF) for more than 350 of the top scholarly journals dating as far back as 1922. This database is updated on a daily basis.

Industry Reports

First Research Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
S&P NetAdvantage The S&P Capital IQ platform combines deep global company information and market research with powerful tools for fundamental analysis, idea generation, and workflow management. The web and Excel-based platform provides easy access to both real-time and historical information on companies, markets, transactions, and people worldwide.
IBISWorld Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.

Trade Resources

Motion Picture Association (MPA)
MPA is an advocate for the film, television, and streaming content industry. Access (via the Research & Policy section of the website) the 2019 THEME Report, a comprehensive analysis and survey of the theatrical and home/mobile entertainment market environment
International Association of Amusement Parks and Attractions (IAAPA)
Trade association for the global attractions industry.

Select Media on Disney

CNBC's full interview with Disney CEO Bob Chapek CNBC, May 11, 2020. Bob Chapek, CEO of Disney, joins CNBC's Julia Boorstin to discuss the company's reopening strategy, demand for streaming and more.

Subject Librarian

Skidmore Reference

Email Me

Contact:

Research Help Desk

518.580.5503

Subjects: Reference & Research

Announcements

See Scribner Library Updates regarding access to the building and the ability to reserve seats in the library. The library's policies and procedures are evolving based on the development of COVID-19 information and the state of the pandemic.

Walt Disney Company Case Readings

Prang, A. (2020, Nov 09). Disney, Lyft set to post results. Wall Street Journal.

Disneyland Paris Embarks on One of the Largest Solar Canopy Energy Projects in Europe. (2020, Oct, 26). The Walt Disney Company.

Flint, J. (2020, Oct. 13). Disney elevates streaming in broad shake-up --- new content and distribution units are created as pandemic changes viewing habits. Wall Street Journal.

The Walt Disney Company Announces Strategic Reorganization of Its Media and Entertainment Businesses (2020, October 12). The Walt Disney Company.

Katz, B. (2020, Oct 09). The logic behind Disney’s decision to send ‘Soul’ to Disney+. The New York Observer.

A New Activist Playbook. (2020, October 8). The New York Times, DealBook Newsletter.

Watson, R. T. (2020, Sep 30). Disney lays off 28,000 staff at parks in latest virus blow. Wall Street Journal

Tubbs, D. (2020. Sep 25) Five Things Walt Disney World Should Focus on During and After its Recovery. Disney Information Station.

Palmeri, C. & Shaw, L. (2020, Sep 9). ‘Mulan’, Once a Sure Thing, Becomes a Problem for Disney. Bloomberg.com

Narayanan, A. (2020, September 1). Disney Is About To Launch A $200 Million Streaming-Video Experiment. Investors Business Daily.

Rapier, G. (2020, August 21). Disney world attendance has plummeted 80% even as Florida COVID-19 cases are on the decline. Business Insider.

Disney confirms Disney+ will hit Latin America in November. (2020, August 13). CE Noticias Financieras (English edition).

Palmeri, C. (2020, August 12). Disney’s CEO Is Scrapping Once-Sacred Business. Bloomberg.com.

Watson, R. T., & Flint, J. (2020, Aug 6). Disney's bet on Mulan and the economics of streaming; is Disney's move a one-time response to extenuating circumstances or a sign of things to come? Wall Street Journal (Online)

Powering the Magic with Renewable Energy. (2020, Aug 5). The Walt Disney Company.

Watson, R. T. (2020, August 05). Disney posts first loss since 2001. Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition). B1.

Barnes, B. (2020, Aug 4). Disney, Staggered by Pandemic, Sees a Streaming Boom. New York Times.

Schwartzel, E., & Flint, J. (2020, July 21). Pandemic rewrites the Disney Playbook --- the company’s connected holdings, once the envy of Hollywood, make it vulnerable. Wall Street Journal (Eastern edition), A1.

Clark, T. (2020, June 11). How Netflix, Prime Video, and Hulu compare to new streaming rivals like Disney Plus and HBO Max. Business Insider.

The Walt Disney Company – A Leader In Corporate Social Responsibility. (2020, June 10). Business Chief (North America).

Berman, J. (2020 Mar 30). As streamers go to war, Disney arms Hulu. Time International (South Pacific Edition) 195(11), 45-47.

Disney Publishes its 2019 Corporate Responsibility Report. (2020, March 12). The Walt Disney Company. https://thewaltdisneycompany.com/disney-publishes-its-2019-corporate-responsibility-report/

Harvard, C. (2020). Disney vs. Comcast: Lessons Learned from Corporate Rivalry. University of Memphis.

Lucy Scribner Library

MB 107 Archive: Fall 2020 Disney