EP Case Documents

MB 107 Course Website

EP Case Documents

Let My People Go Surfing

Let My People Go Surfing by Chouinard, Yvon
Call Number: Reserve - Ask at circulation desk: HC102.5 .C42 2016
ISBN: 9780143109679
Publication Date: 2016-09-06
As a child, Yvon Chouinard moved to Southern California with little English and less money. Today his company, Patagonia, earns more than $600 million a year and is a beacon and benchmark for sustainable capitalism. This is the amazing story of a young man who found escape by scaling the world's highest peaks, of an innovator who used his father's blacksmith tools to fashion equipment that changed climbing forever, and of the entrepreneur who brought doing good and having a blast into the heart of a business.

Sustainability Report

Black, P.J. (2015, February 23). Sustainability. SAGE Business Researcher. Retrieved from http://businessresearcher.sagepub.com/. doi: 10.1177/2374556815574849

Marketing Information

Databases

EASI Market Planner EASI market planner provides data on consumer demographics and usage/ spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts and block groups in the U.S. The data can be mapped, graphed and analyzed using the interactive tools available in Statistical datasets. Use this in-depth consumer demographic research data to better understand your target audience. Find reports by age, gender, lifestyle and multicultural demographics, or browse research on leisure pursuits.

Marketing Fact Pack (Advertising Age)
Ad Age's annual guide to marketers, media and agencies.

Guides

Marketing and Advertising Guide
Use this guide to access even more marketing and advertising databases, journals, and resources.

Patagonia Provisions - Fall 2017

“With Patagonia Provisions, our goals are the same as with everything we do: We aim to make the best product, cause no unnecessary harm, and perhaps most important, inspire solutions to the environmental crisis.”

Patagonia Provisions Website
Patagonia Provisions' official website
Patagonia Provisions Mission
Detailed breakdown of Patagonia Provisions' company mission.
Patagonia Provisions: In the News
Access to current posts, articles, and videos about the company.
Patagonia Provisions Blog
Separate from the Patagonia Provisions' public release statements, this blog highlights community stories, events, and images.
Patagonia's Environmental & Social Responsibility
Read about the activist company, environmental impact, and the supply chain.
Patagonia Works 2016 Annual Report
Patagonia Works' Annual Corporate Benefit Report.

Company Reports

Business Insight's Essential - Patagonia Profile
Includes a report on the company's history.
Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a good place to begin researching a company. Search Blue Apron to access the Blue Apron Holdings, Inc. company overview, easily identify competitors and NAICS codes, and track the latest company news.
Business Source Complete - Whole Foods Market, Inc.
MarketLine provides this company profile.

Industry Reports

Some relevant materials from the Passport database:

The Global State of Online Grocery in 2017 (2017, August 29).
PREMIUMISATION (2017, October)

First Research Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
IBISWorld Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.

Retail Trade Data

Quarterly E-Commerce Reports
Reports on the percentage of E-Commerce sales from total retail sales.
Monthly & Annual Retail Trade
Census Bureau provides current estimates of sales at retail and food services stores and inventories held by U.S. retail stores.

Wild Idea: Buffalo

Wild Idea: Buffalo & Family in a Difficult Land by O'Brien, Dan
Call Number: e-book
ISBN: 9780803250963
Publication Date: 2014-09-01
For more than forty years the prairies of South Dakota have been Dan O'Brien's home. Working as a writer and an endangered-species biologist, he became convinced that returning grass-fed, free-roaming buffalo to the grasslands of the northern plains would return natural balance to the region and reestablish the undulating prairie lost through poor land management and overzealous farming. In 1998 he bought his first buffalo and began the task of converting a little cattle ranch into an ethically run buffalo ranch. Wild Idea is a book about how good food choices can influence federal policies and the integrity of our food system, and about the dignity and strength of a legendary American animal. It is also a book about people: the daughter coming to womanhood in a hard landscape, the friend and ranch hand who suffers great tragedy, the venture capitalist who sees hope and opportunity in a struggling buffalo business, and the husband and wife behind the ranch who struggle daily, wondering if what they are doing will ever be enough to make a difference. At its center, Wild Idea is about a family and the people and animals that surround them--all trying to build a healthy life in a big, beautiful, and sometimes dangerous land.

Unbroken Ground film

Subject Librarian

Skidmore Reference

Email Me

Contact:

Research Help Desk

518.580.5503

Subjects: Reference & Research

Announcements

Group Study Rooms:

Library Group Study rooms may be reserved up to 24 hours in advance for a maximum of 2 hours per student. Room Reservations may be made online or by using the control panel outside of the room.

Library Room 118:
Although it cannot be reserved, the Library's electronic classroom is often available in the evenings and on weekends for student use. Your team may find it to be a good place to practice your executive case presentation.

USB or Datastor:
We recommended that students use a USB storage device (memory stick/flash drive) to access their visual aids for the formal presentation. Use Datastor to save your research and presentation materials as you prepare them.

Relevant Websites

Food Marketing Institute (FMI) - An advocate for the food retail industry. It's U.S. members operate nearly 40,000 retail food stores and 25,000 pharmacies, representing a combined annual sales volume of almost $770 billion.

The Grocery Manufacturers Association (GMA) is the trade organization representing the world’s leading food, beverage and consumer products companies and associated partners.

The Specialty Food Association, is a leading source of information about the $127 billion specialty food industry, whether for benchmark statistics, product trends or stories about food artisans and entrepreneurs. The Association’s annual reports include the State of the Specialty Food Industry and Today’s Specialty Food Consumer.

Patagonia Provisions Case Readings

Harrington, S. (2017, September 22). Patagonia is making a beer that's good for the climate. Yale Climate Connections. Retrieved from https://www.yaleclimateconnections.org/2017/09/patagonias-climate-friendly-beer/

Taschler, J. & Hauer, S. (2017, November 4). U.S. grocery delivery a fast-moving market. Milwaukee Journal Sentinel.

Judkis, M. (2017, October 9). The meal-kit industry is at a crossroads. Will it ever figure out what we really want? Washington Post Online. Retrieved from https://www.washingtonpost.com/

Thasos Group. (2017, October 3). Competitive Impact of Lower Prices at Whole Foods. Retrieved from http://thasosgroup.com/insights/

Urgo, J. L. (2017, Sep 25). Call it the amazon effect: A farmers market d elivered in a box. TCA Regional News Retrieved from https://search.proquest.com/docview/1942179084?accountid=13894

Nate Mitka, N. (2017, May 31). Camp To Kitchen: Patagonia Provisions Becoming ‘Everyday Food’. Retrieved from https://gearjunkie.com

BMI Research. (2017, May 17). Meal Kits: FMCG and grocery majors moving in. Business Monitor Online.

Unilever ventures backs sun basket, leading series C-2 funding. (2017, May 11). PR Newswire Retrieved from https://search.proquest.com/docview/1897338680?accountid=13894

Wieners, B. (2016). Patagonia: For climbing Everest, diving the Great Barrier Reef, and saving the planet on a beer run. Bloomberg Businessweek, (4494), 54-59.

Axelrod, E. (2015, March 18). Can Patagonia’s New Food Line Revolutionize the Salmon Industry? Retrieved from http://civileats.com

Lucy Scribner Library

MB 107 Archive: Fall 2017 Patagonia