Subject Guides: MB 107 Archive: Spring 2018 Sesame

EP Case Documents

MB 107 Course Website

EP Case Documents

Relevant Websites

Childr en's Educational Television
Recent data indicates that children in the United States on average spend more than three hours a day watching television.

Marketing Information

Databases

EASI Market Planner EASI market planner provides data on consumer demographics and usage/ spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts and block groups in the U.S. The data can be mapped, graphed and analyzed using the interactive tools available in Statistical datasets. Use this in-depth consumer demographic research data to better understand your target audience. Find reports by age, gender, lifestyle and multicultural demographics, or browse research on leisure pursuits.

Marketing Fact Pack (Advertising Age)
Ad Age's annual guide to marketers, media and agencies.

Guides

Marketing and Advertising Guide
Use this guide to access even more marketing and advertising databases, journals, and resources.

Sesame Workshop - Spring 2018

Sesame Workshop Website
Sesame Workshop's official website.
Mission
Mission statement and video.
Press Releases
Access to current posts, articles, and videos about the company.
Financials
Access Sesame Workshop's financial statements.

Nonprofit organizations

GuideStar The national database of nonprofit organizations GuideStar, produced by Philanthropic Research, Inc. (PRI), is a searchable directory that provides detailed information on thousands of nonprofit organizations. The database covers IRS-registered 501 nonprofit organizations that may accept tax-deductible contributions. Information includes each organization's mission, legitimacy, impact, reputation, finances, programs, transparency, governance, etc.

NonProfits
The NonProfits tab of the M&B subject page provides links to other resources on the topic that may be of interest, including information on the IRS 990 form and how to find one.

Company Reports

Hoover's Online
Hoover's Online is a good place to begin researching a company. Search Sesame Workshop to access a company overview, easily identify competitors and NAICS codes, and track the latest company news.
Business Source Complete - Scholastic Corporation
MarketLine provides this company profile which includes a SWOT Analysis. Use the Browse navigation (right side of page) to easily find Company Profiles in the BSC database.

Industry Reports

First Research Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.
IBISWorld Business reports in five categories: industry market research, industry risk ratings, company research, global industry research, and economic and demographic data.

The Sesame Effect

The Sesame Effect: The Global Impact of the Longest Street in the World by Cole, Charlotte F. (Editor)
ISBN: 978-1138806917
Publication Date: 2016-03-22
The Sesame Effect details the wide-ranging work of Sesame Workshop and its productions across the world. With an emphasis on impact and evidence from research on projects in low- and middle-income countries, the book tells the stories behind the development of an international family of Muppet characters created for the locally produced adaptations of Sesame Street. Each chapter highlights the educational message of international co-productions and presents the cultural context of each project.

Jim Henson - video

Jim Henson

Metz, J., & Moon, J. (Producers). (2015). Jim Henson [Video file]. Public Broadcasting Service (PBS). Retrieved from Academic Video Online: Premium database. (55 mins.)

Subject Librarian

Skidmore Reference

Email Me

Contact:

Research Help Desk

518.580.5503

Subjects: Reference & Research

Announcements

Group Study Rooms:

Library Group Study rooms may be reserved up to 24 hours in advance for a maximum of 2 hours per student. Room Reservations may be made online or by using the control panel outside of the room.

Library Room 118:
Although it cannot be reserved, the Library's electronic classroom is often available in the evenings and on weekends for student use. Your team may find it to be a good place to practice your executive case presentation.

USB or Datastor:
We recommended that students use a USB storage device (memory stick/flash drive) to access their visual aids for the formal presentation. Use Datastor to save your research and presentation materials as you prepare them.

Lucy Scribner Library

MB 107 Archive: Spring 2018 Sesame