Subject Guides: MB 107 Archive: Fall 2012 Groupon

Course Resources

Featured Resource

Mobile Fact Pack 2012: A Guide to Mobile Marketing by Ad Age Data Center

This Mobile Fact Pack includes key data on mobile ad spending, platform and OEM share, penetration and demographics, consumer behavior, top mobile ad agencies and mobile ad networks.

August 20th, 2012 --28 pages

Library Research Assignment

Please note: Use Internet Explorer to access the ProQuest Statistical Datasets database, Firefox is not working properly. Question 3 on Assignment #2: Find an Oct. 4th article from the Targeted News Service instead of the Sept. 7th article from FastCasual.com News on LexisNexis Academic.

The Library Research Assignment is worth up to 2 bonus points on your final MB 107 grade if succesfully completed. Please turn your completed assignment in to your professor.

Assignment Due Dates:

Prof. Tancredi-Penman (001 & 002): Tuesday, October 16, 2012: Library Assignment No. 2

Prof. D'Abate (003 & 004): Tuesday, October 16, 2012, Library Assignment No. 1

Prof. Hamilton (005): Wednesday, October 17, 2012, Library Assignment No. 1

Groupon Inc. - Fall 2012

Company Reports

Company Profile: Hoovers
Groupon
CrunchBase is the free directory of technology companies, people, and investors that anyone can edit. It is developed and maintained by TechCrunch with the support of the tech community and web site visitors.
Company history
International Directory of Company Histories by Gale provides a history of Groupon, Inc.
ValuEngine: Detailed Valuation Report
Detailed Stock Valuation report from November 5, 2012.

Industry Reports

Yipit Data Overview
Yipit, daily deal aggregator, tracks data on numerous daily deal sites. Here is a preview.
comScore Blog
Blog entries on Groupon from comScore.

First Research Provides profiles for over 700 industries in the United States and Canada.

Digital Family Trees 2012
Some free data on digital marketing is available on this AdAge database. Try selecting the Social Media or Digital Fast Facts tabs, click on the "+" symbol to access the data.

Marketing Information

Digital Family Trees 2012
Some free data on digital marketing is available on this AdAge database. Try selecting the Social Media or Digital Fast Facts tabs, click on the "+" symbol to access the data.

By the Numbers. (2012). Adweek, 53(19), D15.
Digital Marketing special section with data on Online vs. TV Ad Spending 2011-2016 (billions).

For additional sorces see the Marketing & Advertising tab on the Management & Business Subject Page.

EASI Market Planner EASI market planner provides data on consumer demographics and usage/ spending patterns for products and services within all states, counties, census tracts and block groups in the U.S. The data can be mapped, graphed and analyzed using the interactive tools available in Statistical datasets. Use this in-depth consumer demographic research data to better understand your target audience. Find reports by age, gender, lifestyle and multicultural demographics, or browse research on leisure pursuits.

Announcements

Group Study Rooms:

Library Group Study rooms may be reserved up to 24 hours in advance for a maximum of 2 hours per student. Reservations may be made using the link on the library home page (http://lib.skidmore.edu/library/index.php/library-room-reservations) or for immediate access to a room use the Crestron panel outside the room.

USB or Datastor:
It is highly recommended that students use a USB storage device (memory stick/flash drive) to access their visual aids for the formal presentation. Use Datastor to save your research and presentation materials as you prepare them.

Groupon Case Readings

A deal site is now a bad word: Ankur Warikoo, Groupon India. (2012, October 22). Afaqs.com
A discussion of the Indian based Groupon unit.
When Group-Oriented Daily Deals Become Dismal Duds. (2012, October 22). PC World.
This article examines the daily deals sector of Internet marketing and highlights possible problems for consumers who use such services.
Groupon set to launch arabic website. (2012, October 20). Arabianbusiness.Com.
Groupon Middle East has launched an Arabic version of its website.
Kumar, K. (2012, Oct 19). Some daily deal believers are turning to alternative; some businesses are turning to freecouponstl.com instead of deep discount coupons.
A local businessman in St. Louis came face to face with the downsides of offering daily deals.
Online daily deal aggregator, daily deal superstore, expands internationally. (2012, October 17). PRWeb Newswire.
Daily Deal Superstore is an aggregate website that serves as a "Daily Deal Superstore", allowing customers access to the latest from multiple daily deals websites.
Sites, D. (2012, Oct 15). Daily deals companies aren't laying goose eggs. they are the golden eggs. The Washington Post.
An excerpt from a "history lesson" offered by former AOL vice chairman Ted Leonsis, who sits on the board of Groupon and was an early investor . Today, so-called experts sneer at this market as a "deal of the day" business, based on push permission-based marketing via e-mail.
Groupon reinvents itself as a professional competitor. (2012, 11 October). Benzinga.com
Groupon's new, original business ideas have their stocks on the rise.
Barr, A., & Wahba, P. (2012, October 10). eBay launches groupon-like service, social-focused website redesign, same-day delivery. S.F. Oakland Tribune.
Popular internet company eBay has launched Lifestyle Deals, a Groupon-like daily deals website.
Groupon's Analyst Estimates. (2012). Yahoo Finance.
A descriptive analysis of Groupon's financial estimations.
Wolfe, Daniel (2012, September 20). Groupon's New Mobile-Pay App Is Only the Beginning. American Banker.
Groupon launches new mobile credit card payment system.
Groupon May Face Potential Cash Squeeze (2012, September 11). Bloomberg TV -- Video.
Ken Sena, an analyst at Evercore Partners, talks about Groupon Inc.'s outlook and accounting. He speaks with Tom Keene and Sara Eisen on Bloomberg Television's "Surveillance."
Wong, Wailin. (2012, September 8) Andrew Mason talks about Groupon's growth and growing up. Chicago Tribune.
This interview with CEO Andrew Mason gives a first hand reflection of the past, present, and future state of Groupon.
Groupon's Cheap Valuations, Growth In Active Customers Make It A Buy. (2012, September 7). Seeking Alpha.
Seeking Alpha, a website for actionable stock market opinion and analysis, and vibrant, intelligent finance discussion, provides a quantitative analysis of Groupon’s finances, while providing insight on their position in the current market.
Qubeey signs groupon. (2012, September 5). PR Newswire.
This article discusses a new deal between Groupon and an interesting company: Qubeey. Their service is constantly retrieving updates from a user's social media sources. Instead of checking email, Facebook, Groupon, etc. Qubeey directly alerts users of new messages, updates, offers, etc.
Barr, Alistair. (2012, September 5). Starbucks to offer deal through LivingSocial. Reuters.
Munarriz Aristotle Rick, (2012, September 5). Can Starbucks Save Groupon? Daily Finance.
These two brief articles discuss the deal Starbucks made with Groupon competitor Living Social. Both touch upon what the deal means for Groupon.
Winkler, Rolfe. (2012, September 4). Awkward belly dance for groupon. Wall Street Journal.
A discussion concerning the company's founders -- who between them have roughly 36% voting control -- and are competing with the company in a small but important area.
Wong, Wailin. (2012, August 15). Investors discount groupon. Chicago Tribune.
Chief Financial Officer Jason Child told analysts that if direct revenue was accounted for in the same way as daily deals, year-on-year revenue growth would have been 30 percent instead of 45 percent.
Steiner Christopher. (2010, August 30). Meet The Fastest Growing Company Ever. Forbes Magazine.
A brief synopsis giving a general view of Groupon.

Recently Added Case Readings

Jargon, Julie. (2012 November 2). Coupons boost starbucks --- sales, profit rise at coffee chain, helped by promotions.
Starbucks utilized Groupons in order to build a stronger customer base.
Ovide, Shira. (2012 November 2) SEC asked groupon for financial disclosures. The Wall Street Journal.
This past summer, the Securities and Exchange Commission began pressing Groupon to disclose more details on revenue from its new business lines after the company revised it's spring financial report.
Winkler, Rolfe. (2012, November 1). LivingSocial may need a deal of its own. The Wall Street Journal.
LivingSocial has less than $100 million in the bank after raising a total of more than $800 million.
Groupon enters the POS market, with questions regarding the long term sustainability of the move. (2012 November). MarketWatch: Financial Services.
Groupon has entered the point-of-sale (POS) market by updating its iPhone application to provide mobile payment acceptance to retailers using a dongle to swipe consumers' cards. Groupon's entry into the payments market is expected as its primary business faces difficulties since its initial public offering (IPO).
Kessler, Andy. (2012, October 31). Get your daily-deal stocks--75% off!. The Wall Street Journal.
"Neither Groupon nor LivingSocial could unseat the online price-shopping model that does work."
Pho, Kevin. (2012, October 24). Discount prescription drug coupons no bargain: it's a bad deal for patients and insurers. USA Today.
In the past year, about 19 million American used these incentives to fill prescriptions. Since 2009, the health care industry has seen a nearly fivefold increase in the use of discounts.

Lucy Scribner Library

MB 107 Archive: Fall 2012 Groupon